Past UAP National President sworn in as Foundation for Outstanding Professionals prexy

March 4, 2020 | By: UAP Keeping You Posted

Past UAP National President and incumbent chairman of the Professional Regulatory Board of Architecture (PRBOA) Architect Robert S. Sac took his oath of office as President of the FOUNDATION for OUTSTANDING PROFESSIONALS (FOP) before PRC Chairman Hon. Teofilo Pilando last February 27, 2020 at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza, Pasay City.

FOP is a private, non-stock and nonprofit organization whose main purpose is to hold an annual nationwide search for Outstanding Professionals, Outstanding Professional Firms and Outstanding Professional Organizations from among the 43 professions regulated by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC). The awardees are honored in the awards night during the yearly celebration of the PRC Week in June. FOP conducts the project in cooperation with the PRC. As PRC’s partner in service, FOP also assists PRC in pursuing worthwhile projects to carry out its mission.

FOP Officers for Year 2020 are:

President: Arch. Robert S. Sac
Executive Vice-President: Congressman Engr. Romeo S. Momo, Sr.
Secretary: Dr. Paz I. Lucido
Treasurer: Dr. Lucila F. Tibigar
Auditor: Mr. Reynaldo Maxlito H. Umali
PRO: Dr. Rosita C. Nisce
IPP/Trustee: Engr. Rodolfo R. Peñalosa

Atty. Renato B. Valdecantos
Engr. Jose F. Mabanta
Engr. Leandro A. Conti
Arch. Marjoelina D. Didulo

Arch. Sac is the incument Chairman of the Professional Regulatory Board of Architecture (PRBOA). The PRBoA, is one of the Professional Regulatory Boards (PRBs) under the administrative control and supervision of the PRC. 

Prior to his assumption as FOP president, Arch. Sac also served as President of the Philippine Association of the Professional Regulatory Board Members, Inc. (PAPRB). PAPRB is envisioned to bound by the ideals and principals of integrity, excellence, and unity; driven by dynamic leadership committed to serve its members to assist Filipino professional toward competence to meet national and global challenges. PABRB is composed of forty-three (43) Professional Regulatory Boards under the PRC.

In UAP, Architect Sac  rose from ranks, first as Chapter President, District Director, National Treasurer, Vice President and National President of the UAP.

He was recognized by the Philippine Federation of Professional Associations (PFPA), the private umbrella organization of all professional associations recognized by the PRC, as one of the Ten Outstanding Professionals in 2009. The PFPA oversees more than 40 groups of various professions.

In year 2013, he was awarded the prestigious PRC Most Outstanding Professional of the Year in the field of Architecture for exemplifying the highest degree of professional competence and integrity in the architecture profession, for his selfless dedication in shaping high standards and values of the architectural practice, for sharing his expertise with peers in various organizations, and  for his stewardship role in promoting social responsibility through meaningful participation and contribution in socio-related activities. In 2000, he was recognized as the Most Outstanding Alumnus in the Arts by his alma mater, Adamson University, and was later given the Adamsonian Award, the most prestigious honor that the institution could grant an alumnus, during the university’s 75th foundation anniversary celebration. The Lyceum of Lal-lo, where he spent his high school days, also recognized him as its Most Outstanding Alumnus in 2004. He was the very first graduate to have been given the prize. In 2002, the Province of Cagayan awarded him with the Outstanding Cagayano Award for Leadership and Excellence in Business.

It was in his two terms as National President of the UAP, with the full cooperation of other industry associations such as the Philippine Institute of Architects (PIA), the Architects Advocacy International Foundation (AAIF), and the Council of Deans and Heads of Architecture Schools in the Philippines (CODHASP), that Republic Act 9266, more commonly known as the Architecture Law of 2004, was passed into legislation. The act stipulates that only licensed architects could sign and seal architectural plans, giving the profession the respect that it deserves. It also helped give small-practice architects a better fighting chance at the acquisition of projects. The law required all licensed and registered Filipino architects to become the member of an Integrated and Accredited Professional Organization of Architects (IAPOA). The UAP later became the IAPOA after a resolution was passed by the PRC.

His extensive experience in local and international trade relations, matched with his exemplary entrepreneurial and management skills, were further recognized with his appointment as a member of the Philippine Monitoring Committee of the Asia Pacific Economic Council (APEC) from 2003-2004. The following year, he was named Honorary Secretary of ARCASIA, the council overseeing all architectural organizations in Asia. He also served as Treasurer and Vice President for Internal Affairs with the Philippine Technological Council (PTC) in 2005 and 2006, respectively, as well as a Director for the Philippine Movement for Good Governance. He also Chaired the Task Force on RA 9266 during the presidency of Arch. Boy Roldan, his Secretary-General for Fiscal Year 2003-2004.

Architect Sac is also active in several socio-civic groups, the most notable of which is the Rotary Club of Cainta East. He is a Paul Harris Fellow, and he was accorded the Rotary International Presidential Citation as Outstanding Club President. During his term, his chapter garnered the award for Outstanding Rotary Club. On top of that, he was concurrently the President of the Saturday Civic Club of Cainta, and President of the Village East Executive Homes Homeowners Association. He won the Outstanding President Award for the latter.

Photo Credits